Alumni Spotlight: Wendy Jolley-Kabi

Meet Wendy, an alumna of our online MPA program! Wendy currently serves as the President/CEO of Global Health Action in Atlanta, GA. She answered a few questions for us about her experiences:

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of Villanova’s MPA program?
As an online student, I was somewhat surprised and absolutely delighted that I was part of a remarkably engaged learning community. My classmates were spread across the country – and sometimes around the world – but our connections through discussion posts and classroom activities added great value to my Villanova experience.

What are you up to now?
In May 2015, I was selected to serve as the President and CEO of Global Health Action (GHA), an international nonprofit organization located in Atlanta. Our mission is to improve the health and well-being of individuals and communities in under-served parts of the world. I feel like I’ve found my home at GHA. In our daily work, we support the knowledge and creativity of local communities in solving their own problems and challenges.
How did your Villanova MPA degree help you to get where you currently are in your career?
I undertook a job search while enrolled in my MPA classes. Each course helped round out my expertise as a nonprofit leader. The readings and classroom discussions in several courses, especially Administrative Communications and Managing Public Networks, altered significantly the language I used to talk about my skill sets and accomplishments. And, perhaps most importantly, several of my instructors, most notably Ralph Gigliotti and John Fallon, provided opportunities for me to really explore my professional gifts and shortcomings through structured course assignments. And, last but not least, my classmates cheered me on through the search process – even after graduation!
Wendy Jolley-Kabi pic