Student Spotlight: Devan Stewart

Meet Devan! She is a current student in our online MPA program. We asked her a few questions about her experiences in the MPA program thus far and how it’s helping her in the professional world. Check it out!

___________________________________________________________________________

What do you think is the most valuable aspect of Villanova’s MPA program?

I would have to say that the MPA family (that includes professors, current students, alumni and staff) is most valuable aspect of Villanova’s MPA Program. The professors are knowledgeable, friendly, outgoing and invoke in us the abilities to be anything we want to be. As a current student ,I enjoyed meeting other current students both online and in class who share common goals and interests. It is so great to meet so many professionals all over the country who have chosen this fine institution to enhance their careers. I have learned so much from them both personally and professionally.

I also love how involved the alumni are. Many of my friends and colleagues have graduated from this program and I love how they are always there to answer questions and motivate current students to do their best. It inspires me to be the same when I graduate from the program. Most importantly the support staff who works relentlessly to help students, alumni and professors to stay on track and keep everything going. They are always there to help with any questions I have and always go above and beyond what is expected of them. I’d say all together this is one fabulous family and I proud to be a part of it.

I definitely agree with that! Next question – how has your time with the MPA program thus far helped you in your career?

So far the MPA program has helped me both on the job and in the job search. When I started the program (on-campus)Β I was working as an assistant town manager in Pennsylvania. The coursework was so helpful in helping me develop as an individual in my profession. It helped me look at issues in a different way and allowed me to apply what I was learning in the classroom to each issue. The coursework also helped me better understand more about local government policies and how managers work to make great decisions for our communities. More recently I have switched to the online program and continue to learn even more about public administration. I have been on a job search over the last few months and found that the variety of courses offered in the program make me a marketable candidate in local government and non-profit work. There is no doubt that after the completion of this program I will have broad background that will only help me advance in my career goals for years to come.

What is your favorite thing about the Nova Nation?

My favorite thing about Nova Nation is the connections and friendships I have made throughout my time in the program. I love that the MPA program is available to so many people across the nation and they are making a difference in their communities through this wonderful program. I am also proud to say that the Villanova Wildcats Basketball team is #1. That is something to be proud of for sure!