Alumni Spotlight: Suchin Parihar

Meet Suchin! Suchin is a senior patent examiner at the United States Patent & Trademark Office, headquartered in Alexandria, VA.  For the past 10 years, he has worked in a number of different roles for the agency, including trainer, manager and currently as the outreach coordinator for our Midwest Regional office in Detroit, Michigan.  He graduated with an MPA from Villanova University in 2015.  In 2010, he completed his MBA from the George Washington University.  in 2005, he completed a bachelors in Electrical & Computer engineering from the Ohio State University. In his spare time, Suchin has been very active in leadership roles within a number of different community service organizations.  He also enjoys playing recreational sports and watching college football and basketball.  He currently works remotely for his office and resides in Dallas, Texas with his wife Ranjita, his daughter Mandira, and his dog Mowgli.

__________________________________________________________________________

1) What are you up to now? Tell us a little bit about what you do as the Assistant Outreach Coordinator for the US Patent and Trademark Office.

At the United States Patent & Trademark Office, I currently serve as the Assistant Outreach coordinator detailee for our Elijah J McCoy Midwest Regional Office located in Detroit, Michigan.  In this role, I help plan and coordinate events across the Midwest region with our stakeholders such as: universities, trade associations, local libraries, conferences, and other public forums related to innovation and intellectual property.  Our goal is to disseminate information on our agency’s services and resources that are available to the general public, and to help entrepreneurs and small businesses learn and understand how patents and trademarks can provide them with a strategic advantage and protect their products and innovations.   

2) How did your Villanova MPA degree help you get where you currently are in your career?

Earning an MPA from Villanova University has played an important role when developing my career within the federal government.  The knowledge and skills I have obtained in the MPA program at Villanova have provided me with a framework for spring-boarding my career, thus offering me new and exciting opportunities within my organization.  

3) Were there any particular courses or learning experiences during your time in the MPA program that stood out to you?

My favorite class in the MPA program was Professor Jacob’s Ethics course.  The lessons I learned changed the way I think about the decision-making process, and now play a significant role in actions I take everyday as a public administrator.  In my career, I have learned that it is often overlooked of even the smallest and most routine decisions we make as public administrators.

4) What advice do you have for current MPA students?

For those currently enrolled in the MPA program, my advice to you would be to share your experiences inside the classroom with your current & past employers and your other professional contacts.  By talking about your experiences, you allow your knowledge and skills obtained in the MPA program to act as marketing tools for your career.  You would be surprised who might be interested in your skill set when you take the time to talk about your experiences.  I truly believe in the influential power of “2-minute elevator pitch”.  I had one with my former boss just a few years ago, and I believe that it has led to a number of career development opportunities.