Student Spotlight: Brandon Celentano

Meet Brandon! Brandon is in his third and final year of the MPA program. He graduated from Villanova in 2014 with a Bachelor’s in Political Science and currently works full-time in Villanova’s Alumni Relations Office. We checked in with him about his time with Villanova MPA thus far!

___________________________________________________________________________

1) What do you think is the most valuable aspect of Villanova’s MPA program?

What I like most about the program is the incredible diversity of the student body. I have had classmates who work in literally every sector of business, government and nonprofit, and they all bring their unique experiences and perspectives to the table. It allows for thought-provoking class discussions where I’m able to learn so much just by listening and talking to my colleagues. The fact that several classes regularly employ group projects and in-class group activities really facilitates this process of peer-to-peer learning.

2) How has your time with the MPA program thus far helped you in your career?

The program has enabled me to think more critically about my work and how I can do better. I love that nearly every class has a capstone assignment that challenges me to apply what I have learned to improve either my organization or another of my choosing. As a result, I’ve become more adept at identifying problems at work and I am more comfortable speaking out about things that I think can be enhanced or fixed.

3) What is your favorite thing about the Nova Nation?

The people with whom I work and learn are my favorite part of the Nation. At work, I feel truly blessed to have colleagues who are passionate about what they do and are always willing to lend a helping hand. In class, I am equally fortunate to be surrounded by faculty and classmates who genuinely care about my success both in and out of the classroom.

brandon-ll.jpg

Brandon (left) at Villanova’s May 2016 Commencement