Alumni Spotlight- Quyen Thai

Quyen Thai Villanova_DxO

Meet Quyen, an alumnus of our MPA program!

Mr. Thai recently graduated from our masters program this semester and he is starting a new position at the City of Tacoma as a senior plans examiner. We checked in with him about his time with the Villanova MPA.


 

I began my undergraduate studies at the University of Washington in 1995. At first I wanted to become a doctor based on the desires of my parents. While attending school there I realized the medical field was not something I truly enjoyed. What I really enjoyed was reading, writing, and philosophy. So after a couple of years, I decided to finally focus on English. I graduated in 2000 with a degree in English and an emphasis on Creative Writing.

While working on my undergraduate degree, I got my first taste of working in the public sector by working for the University of Washington. After graduation I began working for the City of Seattle as an administration assistant and moved from the City of Seattle to the City of Auburn as a permit software trainer and technician. During the Recession I also worked for the YWCA (Young Women’s Christian Association) as a Property Manager and Administrative Analyst. Having experience in the nonprofit sector was both enriching and eye opening. I learned more about the nonprofit world and a deeper understanding of the social economic status of people around the community.

Unfortunately, as much as I enjoyed working for the YWCA, I still felt the call to continue my public service, and in 2013 I was hired by Pierce County as a Plans Examiner reviewing technical plans for residential and commercial buildings while also training staff on a software program used in the review process.

Recently I was offered a position at the City of Tacoma that I have accepted and will begin a new journey in my career there as a senior plans examiner focused only on commercial projects. I’ll begin my service with Tacoma on January 8.

I just completed the MPA program at Villanova as of December 2017!


1) What motivated you to pursue an MPA? 

I had always wanted to continue my education beyond undergraduate studies but for quite some time I realized I was not mature enough to move forward with it until recently. I originally wanted to purse an MBA (Masters in Business Administration) but realized my career has evolved around the public sector so an MPA would better serve my future needs. Having a graduate degree, especially an MPA I believe will help create and open doors in the future for career opportunities but more importantly I felt that I wanted to understand the organization(s) that I’m working for better. What better way to understand a public organization than getting a degree specifically for public service?


2) What do you think is the most valuable aspect of Villanova’s MPA program? 

There is a lot to appreciate and value in the Villanova MPA program! The courses and materials truly are representative of what you will use in public service or non-profits. There are case studies and theories that are both practical and beneficial to understand to help make decisions on real life situations whether you are in management or not in management. The information is pertinent to understanding why decisions are made and how they are made. Previously, without this understanding, I would get frustrated with management on some of the decisions because I did not understand. Some of my fellow colleagues would also be frustrated. Now, armed with this understanding of how public agencies work through theories, I have a little more patience with some of the decisions because I can understand why some decisions are made.

Also, meeting fellow students and networking with them was also a great aspect of the program. Especially with the online program, students can be more comfortable and be more at ease. I feel that you can genuinely know your fellow students better since they are more relaxed in an online community. Everyone from the students to the professors all brought great experiences to share and having that overall experience shared helped me understand different perspectives as well.


3) How has your time with the MPA program thus far helped you in your career? 

My time with the MPA program has helped me gain recognition. From my director to

my fellow co-workers all were supportive. They realized that I would go far and there were even discussions of moving me to management someday, especially once I was complete with the degree if that was the route I wanted.

Having gone through the program also opened my eyes whether management was where I really wanted to go or would I have greater impact and enjoy being in the front lines helping citizens? I do not have an answer to this question, but at the very least, this program has helped me understand a little more what I truly want to do in my career.


4) What is your favorite thing about the Nova Nation? 

I really enjoyed the time spent with the professors. All the professors were compassionate and understanding. I never once felt like I could never go to a professor with questions. Whenever I had a question, I would ask the professors and receive timely responses. The atmosphere was very conducive to learning and it never felt like it was that much of a chore to study because of the interactions with the professors and fellow students. Therefore I can truly say that my favorite thing about Nova Nation are the professors and students, the people who make up Nova Nation!


5) What is your advice for our new students? 

What really helped me throughout the Villanova MPA program was to create a flexible schedule to study and relax each semester. It is easy to be distracted all the time, especially since graduate studies is about being disciplined and studying on your own. Having a flexible schedule really helped me know when I need to study and when I can relax. You have to give yourself some down time so you do not get burned out from studying but you also have to stay disciplined at the same time. Finding that balance will help you maintain good grades and more importantly your sanity, especially if you are working full time and attending classes.

Leave a comment